Words From A Black Girl: A Reintroduction

The Writer

IMG_0751

Conversations have always been my thing. Just ask anyone who knows me. Even though  I was naturally curious and always wanted to know why, “having a conversation” wasn’t something encouraged in my household while growing up. In fact, queries and the need to know could often get you…well, you know : ). I like to think that my childhood inspired a lot of my interests; which includes talking, teaching, and writing–all of which have become a very intricate part of my identity. Really. I have dedicated my life to education as a high-school English teacher. But the real reason my childhood has inspired me is not that I was often told to “be quiet”, but why I was silenced. What were the consequences of me being so inquisitive or talking too much?

It wasn’t until I became an adult when I realized that I was being conditioned to stay in my place and conform. After all, black women had suffered dire consequences for simply having the audacity to speak. However, when I arrived at Central State University, my thirst for knowledge was met with great reception, and even excitement. I was mentored by professors that would encourage me to explore all the ‘how’s’ and ‘why’s’. Interestingly, it was the safest space I had ever known. I felt totally liberated, and justified in owning my voice–something that many women of color still do not get to experience. My voice soon became my words. And my words, like many before me, solidified my space as an unapologetic, free-thinking, conversationalist, and commentator. My words became my power.

I have truly come a long way in my attempt to be heard. But, today, I can say with great confidence that I am a writer. I do not take this self proclamation lightly. There are many women of color who have inspired my passion–Audre Lorde, Zora Neale Hurston, Toni Morrison, just to name a few. I am just one of many black women determined to write myself into the fabric of society.

I am Ashley S. Wright. I am a writer and this is my blog, Words From a Black Girl.

beautiful-facial-expression-family-936048

The Vision

Cultural and social commentary. Ahhh, the foundation of every great and relevant conversation—well, sometimes, when the conversation isn’t co-opted. Words From a Black Girl  is that safe space to engage in dialogue that considers a real critical analysis of  art, politics, entertainment; and how society treats, displays and portrays marginalized groups.  And, not to mention, how we, as Millennials, negotiate body, gender and identity politics. Ya know, cause that’s important to us.

Ultimately, Words From a Black Girl  is a social space dedicated to uplifting, informing and providing thought-provoking commentary regarding communities of color. In fact, it is necessary to create such a community–-for we have a shortage of media that truly displays and communicates discourse that inspires change.The interconnectedness of the men and women who inhabit our world obligates us to share the knowledge we possess about issues concerning women’s communities, and how the same issues affect men of color. Here, I ask questions that  force us to examine who we are, our relationships, and the most common issues that affect our ways of being in this society. I look forward to sharing knowledge with you, and I hope you are looking forward to sharing as well.

Ashley S. Wright

2 thoughts on “Words From A Black Girl: A Reintroduction

Speak Your Mind